Late Night Baking

We are heading to the park tomorrow to picnic and play with friends after our morning lessons. I don’t actually have enough bread in the house to make sandwiches, the kids are in bed and Alex isn’t here, so I decided to bake something. This recipe is what I came up with and I sure hope it tastes as good as it smells baking.

I should probably wait until I have pictures and results to post this but then I will probably forget and never post. So here goes! Try this and we can decide together what needs to be changed. :)

Maple Banana Almond Bread

3 very ripe bananas

1/2 cup of applesauce

2 eggs, beaten

3/4 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of 100% maple syrup

vanilla (to be honest, I didn’t measure it. I just splashed some in)

2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, spooned into the measuring cup

1/2 cup almond meal/flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp (plus a pinch) of salt

 Yields 2 loaves 

I just did this all in one bowl because I hate dishes. Combine bananas, eggs, sugar, maple syrup, applesauce, and vanilla first. I just used a fork but, of course, a mixer would be handy here. Then sprinkle the dry ingredients over the top and mix just enough to be sure all the of the ingredients are combined well. I baked in 2 loaf pans at 350 for about 40 minutes. I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

 NB: The bread was really good but a little sweet for my taste. I would definitely reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup  next time.

2 thoughts on “Late Night Baking

Leave a Reply

