Summer Plans and Favorite Things

One of my favorite link-ups is back for the summer, and I’m playing along!*

answermethis

1. Any big plans for the summer?

Well, we are counting down to Moving Day 2015. Two Weeks to go! So, I would say that’s a pretty big plan. There’s a lot of this going on.
image

image

image

But, I’m determined that the summer not be entirely lost to the business of packing and unpacking. I have big plans to spend plenty of time at the pool, at the park, and on nature walks. Earlier this month we enjoyed a weekend getaway and we hope to have another before the school year begins. I need the time to play and relax and I know my kids definitely do too.

2. What is the strangest thing you believed as a child?

I’ve believed many strange things. Why, sometimes I have believed as many as six strange things before breakfast!*

When I was a little girl, we lived in a house without a chimney. I never worried about how Santa Claus would come, though, because my mother had explained that for me. Tinker Bell simply came through the key hole and unlocked the door for him. She was ever so quiet so as not to wake us – despite the fact that the front door opened up right into our bedroom. She was truly the unsung hero of Christmas, helping Santa bring the presents for all the good little boys and girls.

3. What is your favorite amusement park ride? 

All the water rides, guys. I love them all. I can’t even get into the swimming pool without going down the slide first. Seriously. Can’t. Help. Myself. I love it.

(photo credit: tripadvisor.com)

(photo credit: tripadvisor.com)

(photo credit: Wikimedia.org)

(photo credit: Wikimedia.org)

(Photo credit: silverdollarcity.com)

(Photo credit: silverdollarcity.com)

See that makes me want to go to an amusement park. Right. Now.

4. What’s on your summer reading list?
image

I’m part of the Stella Maris book club and right now we are reading a few Flannery O’Connor short stories. We just had our discussion of A Good Man is Hard to Find and next week we’ll discuss Parker’s Back. This is my first venture into Flannery’s writing and so far, I’ve got to say, I’m with Haley. (Mostly, her #1 and #7.) The best part, though, is definitely the lively discussion with all the other ladies in the group. It’s so much fun.

 5. Have you ever fallen asleep in public?

Most definitely. Not that I mean to, but it has happened plenty o’times. The worst is when it happens on a retreat or conference when there’s a talk right after lunch. I feel so badly, and I surely want to hear whatever the speaker is talking about but I just can’t keep my eyes open. I hate that.

6. What is your favorite smell?

I love the smell of rain, the smell of the ocean, and the smell of fresh clean laundry.

How about you? Feel free to leave a comment or link a post at Catholic All Year!

*NB: I thought this post was up when I linked it up in June but it was still set to drafts until July. I went ahead and posted it now anyway. I’m sorry if you tried to head here from the link up and couldn’t find this!

2 thoughts on “Summer Plans and Favorite Things

  1. Don’t mind me. Just creeping through your blog :) I’d love to chat about some of Flannery O’Connor’s short stories with you!!! I left my book at my father-in-laws house over Christmas break but I have found a lot of her stories to be intriguing.

    • I love it! Thanks for reading. Let’s definitely chat about Flannery O’Connor. I actually just picked up my book again a few weeks ago and have read a few more stories that were new to me. Her work really is intriguing!

Leave a Reply

