What I’ve Been Reading – June 2015

It seems that I read more when life is stressful. When I’m tired from packing, or other details from the Big Move, or when life with four little kids is more crazy than usual… It’s so great to be able to run into an imaginary world for a while.  Besides reading the late great Flannery O’Connor for book club, I’ve also been enjoying these good books.

somedaymaybeThis is the story of a young actress trying to make it in New York. But it was so relatable. It could have been me and my friends, just after college, trying to figure out what the heck we were doing with our lives and who we wanted to have along for the ride. This was the book version of the favorite romantic comedy that you could watch every day. Loved it.

eleanor

I checked out Eleanor and Park from the library last week. I think I read it in a day. It’s the story of two misfit high schoolers who give love their best shot. The characters were so real. I think we all knew Eleanor and Park in high school. Well, that, or we were Eleanor or Park in high school. I loved the story, the characters, and all of the music references.

rosie

I had seen The Rosie Project mentioned a lot over the last few months and decided to give it a try. It’s the story of Don Tillman, a quirky professor who sets out to find his ideal match. Instead he meets Rosie, who is all wrong for him, and she sidetracks him with the project of finding her biological father. I thought it was clever and fun to read.

nevertoldyou

If you’re up for something with more drama, I recommend this debut novel by Celeste Ng. The story opens with the death of a sixteen year old girl. It goes on to portray all of the family secrets and struggles that led to that point, and that threaten to tear the family apart. I thought it was excellent. As soon as I finished reading it, I texted a friend to recommend it.

I’m linking up for Quick Lit with Modern Mrs. Darcy and What We’re Reading at Housewifespice. Head on over to those blogs for many more book reviews!

**Updated because whoops, I meant to include links to the books on Amazon. I am not an Amazon affiliate. I just meant to do that as a courtesy. Sorry I didn’t get to it sooner!**

What have you been reading lately?

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading – June 2015

Leave a Reply

