Oh So Happy {A Daybook}

Outside my window

Spring has arrived in South Dakota! I am so excited! Today was gorgeous. The sky was blue, the sun was shining, and birds were singing! It was just delightful. I mean, I actually feel  giddy about how beautiful it was today. I am so happy that its spring.

I am thankful for

Our new Holy Father! I really experienced a sense of mourning since Pope Benedict’s resignation, and now I feel such joy. I’m really looking forward to learning more from Pope Francis! Its just so exciting!

I am thinking about

The retreat we are on this weekend. Alex will be the emcee, and I will lead music. Actually, I’m thinking more about all the stuff we have to do before we can be ready to leave … you know, dishes, packing, laundry… The house is seriously crazy right now, even by my standards. I have miles to go before I sleep…

From the kitchen

I made barbeque chicken sandwiches for dinner tonight, using this peach barbeque sauce. I have been meaning to try it since the recipe was posted last summer, but I just never got around to it. I froze some peaches I was gifted at the end of last season with the intentions of making this sauce. I finally got around to making it yesterday, and it is YUM-MY. The only thing I did differently was to use honey instead of the brown sugar. And I decided not to can it this go round, since I was just trying the recipe for the first time. Both Allie and Joshua gobbled it up and Allie told me that  could “definitely make it again.” Alex agreed. Score! :)

I am praying for

My sister Isabel to have her baby already! She’s 41 weeks and some days… I’m hopeful he decides to make his debut tonight.

Also, of course, for everyone who will be on retreat this weekend. I think there will be around 50 people – students and missionaries.

I am listening to

Tchaikovsky’s The Sleeping Beauty :) Allie is playing ballerina, so I made a ballet station for her on Pandora. Now, “I know you- I walked with you once upon a dream” is dancing through my head!

A few plans for the rest of the week

For one thing, I need to figure out why the pictures from my phone aren’t loading onto Picasa… Hmm. I thought I uploaded them so I could post pictures of my cute kids, but I guess that didn’t quite work out…

Next week is crunch time for my thesis. I’m trying to get it finished before Holy Thursday. I need to get it done by the first few days of April, but I’d just like to be able to celebrate Easter without having work on my brain. Then I can get ready to graduate! Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

